Alastair Lee

Coquitlam piper Alastair Lee has clinched the BC Pipers’ Association MacCrimmon Memorial Cairn and Medal as the winner of the Open Piobaireachd and the Mary MacLeod Collins Memorial Trophy for the Open piping aggregate at the 2022 Annual Gathering, held online April 15 & 16, 2022.

Lee took two firsts in Open piobaireachd and jig. Prince Edward Island piper James MacHattie won the Open MSR and Zephan Knichel had three 2nd place finishes in the Open events.

The online competition drew 150 competitors from around the world to the second Annual Gathering event held exclusively online.

“It was great to see the whole world involved in the competition,” says BCPA Chief Steward Lynn Bullis. “There was great attendance at the event, with close to 100 competitors in all grades from Australia, Africa, Wales, Scotland, eastern Canada and the US.”

“Everything ran smoothly over the two day competition, thanks to the behind-the-scenes work of the BCPA IT volunteers and stewards.”

James MacHattie

The Darleen Milloy Memorial Trophy & Medal in the Competing Pipers Association (CPA) “B” grade Piobaireachd went to Zephan Knichel.

Piper Callum Bevan dominated the Grade 1 field with one first place finish and two seconds. Bevan won the John MacDonald Memorial Shield for overall aggregate in the Annual Gathering Grade 1 competition.

The Malcolm Nicholson Memorial Trophy for Combined Grade 1 Annual Gathering and Mini-Gathering aggregate along with a travel prize was also awarded to Callum Bevan.

Zephan Knichel

The MacIver Memorial Trophy for most points overall went to a tie between Adi Moss-Sheth and John Buchanan.

The Kathleen & Donald Memorial Trophy for Grade 1 Jig went to Callum Bevan and the Duncan Watson Memorial Shield for Grade 1 March, Strathspey and Reel was won by Daniel Johnstone.

In Grade 1 piobaireachd, the Caber Feidh Trophy and Iain MacKinnon Memorial medal went to Liam Forrest.

Other winners in the online competition included James MacHattie winning the Duncan McInnes Memorial Trophy for Open MSR, and Alastair Lee, the Donald MacDonald Shield for Open Jig.

The CPA “C” grade Piobaireachd winner is David Stulpner

The Most Promising Piper and winner of the Roderick MacLeod Memorial Trophy is Truin Tomasetti The Most Promising Drummer and winner of the Grace Clansey Trophy is Hope Barnes

The 89th Annual Gathering was held online, with competitors in the lower grades submitting videos in advance, while Grade 1, Open & CPA grades players competed live, via Zoom, and then uploaded their performances. Adjudicators for the events were Donald MacPhee, Peter Aumonier, drumming judge Paul Brown and other local adjudicators.

“I send out my congratulations to all our winners and everyone who competed. It has been a difficult two years due to the pandemic and the BCPA has had to adapt to allow our pipers and drummers to continue on their journey despite these difficulties.  I thank Chief Steward Lynn Bullis, the stewards and IT volunteers who helped out. I  look forward to thanking many of them at the Boney Music Invitational in Vancouver on May 14 or on the field this summer,” says BCPA president Graham Davidson.

Full results of the 88th BCPA Annual Gathering can be found on the BCPA website. Click HERE.